
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

September 18, 2006 
 

 
Bureau of Land Management 
1620 L St., N.W. 
Suite 401 
Washington, DC 20036    By e-mail and hand delivery 
 
Attention: RIN 1004-D86 
 
 
Minerals Management Service 
Minerals Revenue Management 
Chief of Staff Office- Denver 
P.O. Box  25165  
MS 302B2 
Denver, CO 80225-0165    By e-mail and 1st class mail   
 
Attention: RIN 1010-AD32 
 
To Whom It May Concern, 
 

Following are comments on behalf of the State Controller of California in regards to the 
above RIN numbers: 
 

MMS’s Explanation of Proposed Amendments states that, “the royalty rate BLM prescribes 
will take into account achieving the same level of royalty revenues over a 10-year period as the 
regulation in effect on the date of enactment of the EP Act....”  In proposed §3211.17 BLM sets the 
royalty rate for leases that previously did not produce geothermal resources for commercial 
generation of electricity from Class II and III leases at 1.75 percent.  No explanation is offered as to 
why the 1.75 percent rate will result in the same level of royalty revenue. The data and analysis 
underlying this conclusion are necessary to evaluate the proposal.  Furthermore, the proposed rules 
imply that the BLM prescribed rates are not applicable to a Class I lease that previously produced 
geothermal resources which is being converted to a Class II or Class III lease.  Specific language 
should be added to § 3211.17 to insure that BLM’s rates are still applicable. 



 
Section 3212.25 permits a lessee to request the conversion of a Class I lease into a Class II or Class 
III lease.  The regulation should provide that the election cannot be reversed.  The lessee should not 
be permitted to continually shop for the class that yields the least royalty. 
 
Sections 206.352 establishes the royalty due on geothermal resources used for the commercial 
generation of electricity; subsection (b) (2) applies to Class II leases and (b) (3) applies to Class III 
leases.  Both subsections provide that the royalty is the “gross proceeds from the sale electricity for 
the production month multiplied by the royalty rate.”  They further provide, “You may not reduce 
gross proceeds by any deduction.”  There is an ambiguity created here by the use of the term “gross 
proceeds.”   The term should be defined so as not to permit any deductions from the sale price. 
 
The proposed regulations add a new paragraph (§ 202.353) regarding the form required for reporting 
quantities in cases of direct use.  For example subparagraph (b) requires the reporting of “Millions of 
Btu’s to the nearest whole million Btu;” “Millions of gallons to the nearest million gallons;” and 
“Millions of pounds to the nearest whole million pounds.”  Because this provision could encourage a 
lessee to control its incremental production to avoid royalties, we recommend eliminating it. 
 
The proposed rules provide that for new leases in non-arms’s length transactions, or in no sales 
situations, the royalty on electricity produced from geothermal resources be based on gross proceeds 
from the sale of the electricity rather than on the “net back” system that was used prior to the Energy 
Policy Act.  The proposed rules appear to imply that royalties can be determined by the “net back” 
method for arm’s length transactions.  If such is the case, we recommend the proposed rules be 
clarified to clearly limit the use of the net back method to Class I leases. 
 

On behalf of Steve Westly, 
State Comptroller of California 

 
 
 

Henry M. Banta 
Counsel 
Lobel, Novins & Lamont, LLP 
 

 
 


